Authorization

Add-on authorization card Add-ons require authorization from the user before they can operate. After deploying an add-on, you can run it by opening any message in Gmail. If Gmail is already open, you may need to refresh the tab before the add-on executes.

When an add-on is run, it determines if user authorization is needed. If authorization is necessary, the add-on presents an authorization card. Authorization is always required the first time an add-on executes, and may also be required if a new version of the add-on uses a service not previously authorized. The Authorize Access button provides a dialog window for the user to Allow or Deny authorization for the add-on.

Authorizing non-Google services

If your add-on needs to access a non-Google service using OAuth, you must configure the connection for that service when building the add-on.

Add-ons that connect to non-Google services require two separate actions from the user:

  • Authorization of the add-on itself when the add-on starts.
  • Authorization of the non-Google service when it is first accessed.

When authorization of a non-Google service is required, the add-on presents the user with an authorization prompt card for that service. You can customize this authorization prompt if you wish, or use the default card.

For more details, please refer to the Connecting to non-Google services guide.

Unauthorizing add-ons

You can unauthorize an add-on by going to your account security console, locating the add-on and clicking Remove. If you try to run the add-on again, it requests authorization once more.