A bookmark group in Google Issue Tracker is a collection of [hotlists](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/concepts/hotlists) and
[saved searches](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/concepts/saved-searches). Bookmark groups allow you to collect and track sets of
issues. Bookmark groups are also a convenient way to collaborate across entire
projects or products.

When you [create a bookmark group](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#create) or [add a bookmark group](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#find), the group
appears in the left-hand navigation with an expandable button in the
**Bookmark groups** section. Expanding a bookmark group shows the saved searches
and hotlists that make up the group. Saved searches appear in italics. If you
own or separately subscribe to a saved search, it appears in both the bookmark
group and in the **Saved searches** section of the left-hand navigation pane. A
hotlist that is part of a bookmark group only appears within that group,
regardless of whether you own or subscribe to the hotlist.

Bookmark groups are uniquely identified by an ID number, not by name. As a
result, different bookmark groups can have the same name and may be difficult to
differentiate. You should generally choose a unique name when creating a
bookmark group.

## IDs and naming

Saved searches, hotlists, and bookmark groups are uniquely identified by ID
numbers. You can find ID numbers by clicking the pencil or clipboard icon on the
details page next to the resource name. As an alternative, if a resource is in
the left-hand navigation, you can access its ID number by selecting **Settings**
in its drop-down menu.

Names for saved searches, hotlists and bookmark groups don't need to be unique.
For example, two different users can
[create a bookmark group](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#create) named "My
Bookmark Group." One of these bookmark groups may have the ID number 63690 while
the other has an ID number of 82451. If the same user creates or subscribes to
resources with the same name, each resource appears in the left-hand navigation
and it may be difficult to distinguish one from another. For this reason, you
should make names as unique as possible and avoid using generic names.

## Manage bookmark groups

When you create a bookmark group, you have **Admin** permission for that group.
You can [give additional users **Admin** permission](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#edit) for the group. You can
also remove yourself as an **Admin** for the group, though there must be at
least one **Admin** listed. Once you remove yourself as an **Admin** , only a
user with **Admin** permission can give you back the permission. If you don't
have the **View only** permission, you are unable to access the bookmark group
at all.

Most [management tasks](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group) for a bookmark group are performed on the details
page for the bookmark group, which requires **Admin** permission to access and
change. If you are on the homepage or dashboard for the bookmark group, you can
access the details page with the pencil icon located next to the bookmark group
name.

![](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/images/public/bg-edit-window.png)

You can also access the details page using the **Settings** option in the
drop-down menu for the bookmark group, located in the left-hand navigation.

Users with **Admin** permission for a bookmark group can
[add or remove hotlists and saved searches](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#add) from the group. Note that there
are restrictions on the saved searches and hotlists that an **Admin** can add:

- A user must be an **Admin** for a saved search in order to add it to the bookmark group.
- A user must have at least **View only** permission for a hotlist in order to add it to the bookmark group.

An **Admin** of a bookmark group can also [edit](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#edit) or [archive](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#remove) the group.
When archived, a bookmark group no longer appears in the left-hand navigation of
users who starred it. An archived bookmark group is not returned in a
[bookmark group search](https://developers.google.com/issue-tracker/guides/work-with-bookmark-group#find) and only appears in the **Archived** section in the
left-hand navigation of the users who have **Admin** permissions.