Missed the action at the 2018 Chrome Dev Summit? Catch up with our playlist on the Google Chrome Developers channel on YouTube. Watch now.

Element ARIA Attributes Are Valid And Not Misspelled Or Non-Existent

Overview

Misspelled or nonexistent ARIA attributes may be preventing the screen reader from properly understanding the current state of a widget. This could make the page unusable to users who rely on screen readers.

See Introduction to ARIA for more information.

Recommendations

Below the audit, Lighthouse displays something like 1 element fails this test. The number varies depending on how many elements are failing. Click this label to expand the list. You can find each element in your DOM by running the $(), $$(), and $x() functions from the Chrome DevTools Console.

To find each listed element's invalid attribute names:

  1. Note the role and aria-* attributes of the element.

  2. Go to Definition of Roles.

  3. Go to the page for this element's role.

  4. Check the actual attributes on the element against the supported attributes, as listed in Required States and Properties and Supported States and Properties.

More information

This audit is powered by the aXe Accessibility Engine. See ARIA attributes must conform to valid names for more information.

Feedback

Was this page helpful?
Yes
What was the best thing about this page?
It helped me complete my goal(s)
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
It had the information I needed
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
It had accurate information
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
It was easy to read
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
Something else
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
No
What was the worst thing about this page?
It didn't help me complete my goal(s)
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
It was missing information I needed
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
It had inaccurate information
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
It was hard to read
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.
Something else
Thank you for the feedback. If you have specific ideas on how to improve this page, please create an issue.