If you no longer want your interactive Google Chat app to be
available to users, you can turn off your Chat app,
unpublish your app from Google Workspace Marketplace, or delete the
Google Cloud project that's associated with the app.

## Turn off your Chat app

To turn off your Chat app, update the app status in the
Google Cloud console. These changes take effect immediately. When a
Chat app is turned off, it's no longer available for
users in Google Chat to use, but is still discoverable. The
Chat app appears offline. The
Chat app is still listed in the
Google Workspace Marketplace, but new users are unable to install the
Chat app.

> [!NOTE]
> **Note:** If you built your Chat app using AppSheet's automatic configuration, disable your app by following the steps in [Disable Chat apps](https://support.google.com/appsheet/answer/13198694).

To turn off a Chat app, do the following:

1. In the Google Cloud console, go to **Menu
   \> APIs \& Services
   \> Enabled APIs \& Services
   \> Google Chat API
   \> Configuration**.

   [Go to Configuration](https://console.cloud.google.com/apis/api/chat.googleapis.com/hangouts-chat)
2. In **App status** , select **Disabled**.

3. Click **Save**.

If you don't want your Chat app to still be
discoverable by users,
[Unpublish your app from the Google Workspace Marketplace](https://developers.google.com/workspace/marketplace/manage-app-listing#unpublish_your_app_listing).

If you want to turn the Chat app back on, change the
status to **Live - available to users**. The users who had previously installed
your app regain access.

## Unpublish your app from the Google Workspace Marketplace

If your Chat app was published to the
Google Workspace Marketplace and you no longer want it to be publicly listed,
available to your domain, or available to Google Workspace administrators, see
[Unpublish your app listing](https://developers.google.com/workspace/marketplace/manage-app-listing#unpublish_your_app_listing).
After you unpublish, your app listing no longer appears on the
Google Workspace Marketplace or in Google Chat, and users who have already
installed your app can no longer access it. The app is still accessible to
anyone who is listed in the **Visibility** section in the
**Configuration** tab of the Google Chat API in the Google Cloud console.

If you republish the app, the users who had previously installed your app regain
access.

## Delete the Cloud project

To permanently remove your Chat app, delete the
Cloud project that's associated with your app. You don't need to first
unpublish your Chat app from the
Google Workspace Marketplace or turn off the
Chat app. For more information, see
[Shutting down (deleting) projects](https://cloud.google.com/resource-manager/docs/creating-managing-projects#shutting_down_projects).

The Cloud project and Chat app isn't usable
and is permanently deleted after 30 days.

## Related topics

- [Restoring a project](https://cloud.google.com/resource-manager/docs/creating-managing-projects#restoring_a_project)