進階說明:搜尋服務的運作方式

瞭解 Google 搜尋如何檢索內容、建立索引,以及如何將內容提供給使用者,對於您在偵錯或預期搜尋服務在您網站上的行為時,會有很大的幫助。

檢索

「檢索」是指 Googlebot 造訪新網頁或更新過的網頁,並將它們排入 Google 索引佇列的程序。

我們使用大量電腦來抓取 (也就是「檢索」) 網路上數十億的網頁。用來擷取網頁的程式名為 Googlebot,又稱為漫遊器或自動尋檢程式。Googlebot 會使用特定的演算程序來決定要檢索的網站、檢索頻率,以及要從每個網站擷取的網頁數量。

在檢索時,Google 會以過往檢索程序所產生的網頁網址清單為基礎,結合網站擁有者所提供的 Sitemap 資料,逐一檢索各個網頁。當 Googlebot 造訪網頁時,會尋找網頁上的連結,並將這些連結新增至待檢索網頁清單。系統會記錄任何新網站、現有網站變動和無效連結,並以此更新 Google 索引。

進行檢索時,Google 會使用最新版本的 Chrome 轉譯網頁,並於轉譯程序中執行檢索器找到的任何網頁指令碼。如果您的網站使用動態產生的內容,請務必遵循 JavaScript 搜尋引擎最佳化 (SEO) 基礎知識

Google 如何得知不要檢索哪些網頁?

  • 遭到 robots.txt 封鎖的網頁不會列入檢索範圍,但如果該網頁連結至其他網頁,則 Google 仍可能會為其建立索引。這是因為 Google 可根據指向網頁的連結來推斷網頁內容,而且此時無須剖析網頁內容即可為其建立索引。
  • Google 無法檢索任何禁止匿名使用者存取的網頁,因此任何登入規定或其他授權保護機制都會使 Google 無法檢索網頁。
  • 如果 Google 在檢索某個網頁後判定其為重複網頁,就會降低對該網頁的檢索頻率。

改善檢索成效

下列做法能夠協助 Google 找到您網站上的正確網頁:

建立索引

Googlebot 會處理檢索的每個網頁,藉此瞭解網頁內容, 這包括處理文字內容、關鍵內容標記和屬性 (例如 <title> 標記和替代屬性)、圖片、影片等。不過,雖然 Googlebot 可以處理的內容類型廣泛,但並未涵蓋所有類型,比方說 Googlebot 就無法處理部分互動式多媒體檔案的內容。

在完成檢索後到開始建立索引之前,Google 會判斷網頁是標準網頁或重複網頁,如果判定是重複網頁,則會降低檢索該網頁的頻率。系統會將類似的網頁歸納成一份「文件」,這份文件會包含一組網頁,網頁數量可能為一或多個,其中包括標準網頁以及系統找到的任何重複網頁。標準網頁是該群組中最具代表性的網頁,而重複網頁可能只是能夠前往同樣網頁的替代網址,或是同一個網頁針對行動裝置或電腦提供的替代版本。

請注意,Google 不會為含有 noindex 指令標頭/標記的網頁建立索引,但前提是檢索器必須能看到指令。如果網頁遭到 robots.txt 檔案、登入頁面或其他裝置封鎖,就算 Google 並未造訪該網頁,仍可能為其建立索引。

改善索引成效

您可以運用下列做法讓 Google 更加瞭解網頁內容:

什麼是「文件」?

Google 內部會以一組「文件集」的形式代表網路,且這組文件集的規模相當龐大。文件集中的每份文件都代表一或多個網頁,這些網頁可能彼此相同或者非常類似,且內容在本質上都是相同的,只是透過不同網址存取的結果。文件中的不同網址可能會導向完全相同的網頁,例如 example.com/dresses/summer/1234 和 example.com?product=1234 可能會顯示同一個網頁;或者,會導向同一個網頁針對不同裝置使用者顯示的微調版本,例如向電腦使用者顯示 example.com/mypage,向行動裝置使用者則顯示 m.example.com/mypage。

Google 會為每個文件選擇一個網址,定義為該文件的「標準網址」,這會是 Google 在該文件內最常檢索及建立索引的網址。系統會將其他網址視為「重複網址」或「替代網址」,並且只會偶爾進行檢索,或者根據使用者的要求顯示於搜尋結果中。舉例來說,假設文件的標準網址是行動版網址,但如果使用者透過電腦搜尋,Google 可能還是會提供電腦版網址 (也就是替代網址)。

Search Console 中的大部分報告都會將資料歸給文件的標準網址。有些工具支援測試替代網址,例如網址檢查工具,不過,檢查標準網址也能夠提供替代網址的相關資訊。

您可以告訴 Google 您偏好的標準網址,但 Google 可能會基於各種原因選擇其他網址做為標準網址。

以下簡介我們所提到字詞,以及這些字詞在 Search Console 中的用法:

  • 文件:由類似網頁組成的集合。每份文件都會有一個標準網址,如果您的網站有重複網頁,文件中也會包含可能的替代網址。文件中的網址可以來自相同或不同的「機構」,也就是根網域,例如 www.google.com 中的「google」。Google 會根據平台 (行動裝置/電腦)、使用者語言或位置和其他眾多變數,選擇最適合顯示在搜尋結果中的網址。Google 會透過自然檢索或是網站中實作的功能 (例如重新導向或 <link rel=alternate/canonical> 標記) 等方式,探索網站上的相關網頁。如果相關網頁位於其他組織,就必須由您的網站透過重新導向或連結標記等方式明確編碼後,系統才會將其標示為替代網頁。
  • 網址:用來開啟網站中特定內容的網址。
  • 網頁:可以由一或多個網址開啟的特定網頁,其「版本」可能會因使用者的平台而異,例如行動裝置、電腦、平板電腦等。
  • 版本:網頁的其中一個變化版本,通常可歸類為「行動版」、「電腦版」和「AMP」,不過 AMP 網頁可能也會有自己的行動版和電腦版網頁。視網站設定而定,各個版本可以使用不同網址,例如 example.com 和 m.example.com,也可以使用相同網址。舉例來說,如果您的網站使用動態服務回應式網頁設計,就能以同樣的網址顯示同一個網頁的不同版本。系統不會將同一個網頁的不同語言版本視為不同的「版本」,而是會將它們歸納成不同的「文件」。
  • 標準網頁或標準網址:Google 認為一份文件中最具代表性的網址。每次檢索時,Google 都會檢索這個網址,有時候也會檢索文件中的重複網址。
  • 替代/重複網頁或替代/重複網址:Google 有時會檢索的文件網址。Google 也會視使用者和搜尋要求不同提供適合的網址。舉例來說,針對來自電腦的搜尋要求,系統會提供適合電腦使用者的替代網址,而不是標準行動版網址。
  • 網站:通常指一組概念上相關的網頁集合;有時也會用來指稱 Search Console 資源,不過一項資源實際上只能定義為單一網站的一部分。每個網站都可以跨多個子網域,如果 AMP 網頁的連結方式正確,甚至能跨多個網域。

傳回搜尋結果

使用者輸入查詢字詞時,我們的系統會搜尋索引資料庫,並找出符合的網頁,再傳回我們認為與使用者的查詢內容最相關的結果。搜尋關聯性取決於數百種因素,而且我們仍不斷努力改進演算法。Google 在選擇搜尋結果及調整排名時會考量使用者體驗,因此請確認您的網頁可快速載入適合行動裝置瀏覽

改善您的搜尋結果

您可以透過許多方法改善 Google 提供您網頁內容的方式:

  • 如果您的網站是針對特定地區或語言的使用者所設計,請告知 Google 您的目標對象
  • 確保網頁可快速載入適合行動裝置瀏覽
  • 遵循網站管理員指南,避免常見錯誤並改善網站排名。
  • 考慮為網站實作搜尋結果功能,例如食譜資訊卡或新聞報導資訊卡。
  • 實作 AMP 可在行動裝置上更快載入網頁。部分 AMP 網頁也可以使用焦點新聞輪轉介面等其他搜尋功能。
  • Google 會持續改進演算法,因此與其嘗試猜測演算法規則並據此設計網頁,還不如依循我們的規範,用心創造令人耳目一新且切合使用者需求的優質內容。

Advanced: How Search Works

Understanding how Google Search crawls, indexes, and serves content is important when you're debugging issues and anticipating Search behavior on your site.

Crawling

Crawling is the process by which Googlebot visits new and updated pages to be added to the Google index.

We use a huge set of computers to fetch (or "crawl") billions of pages on the web. The program that does the fetching is called Googlebot (also known as a robot, bot, or spider). Googlebot uses an algorithmic process to determine which sites to crawl, how often, and how many pages to fetch from each site.

Google's crawl process begins with a list of web page URLs, generated from previous crawl processes, augmented by Sitemap data provided by website owners. When Googlebot visits a page it finds links on the page and adds them to its list of pages to crawl. New sites, changes to existing sites, and dead links are noted and used to update the Google index.

During the crawl, Google renders the page using a recent version of Chrome. As part of the rendering process, it runs any page scripts it finds. If your site uses dynamically-generated content, be sure that you follow the JavaScript SEO basics.

How does Google know which pages not to crawl?

  • Pages blocked in robots.txt won't be crawled, but still might be indexed if linked to by another page. Google can infer the content of the page by a link pointing to it, and index the page without parsing its contents.
  • Google can't crawl any pages not accessible by an anonymous user. Thus, any login or other authorization protection will prevent a page from being crawled.
  • Pages that have already been crawled and are considered duplicates of another page, are crawled less frequently.

Improve your crawling

Use these techniques to help Google discover the right pages on your site:

Indexing

Googlebot processes each page it crawls in order to understand the content of the page. This includes processing the textual content, key content tags and attributes, such as <title> tags and alt attributes, images, videos, and more. Googlebot can process many, but not all, content types. For example, we cannot process the content of some rich media files.

Somewhere between crawling and indexing, Google determines if a page is a duplicate or canonical of another page. If the page is considered a duplicate, it will be crawled much less frequently. Similar pages are grouped together into a document, which is a group of one or more pages that includes the canonical page (the most representative of the group) and any duplicates found (which might simply be alternate URLs to reach the same page, or might be alternate mobile or desktop versions of the same page).

Note that Google doesn't index pages with a noindex directive (header or tag). However, it must be able to see the directive; if the page is blocked by a robots.txt file, a login page, or other device, it is possible that the page might be indexed even if Google didn't visit it!

Improve your indexing

There are many techniques to improve Google's ability to understand the content of your page:

What is a "document"?

Internally, Google represents the web as an enormous set of documents. Each document represents one or more web pages. These pages are either identical or very similar, but are essentially the same content, reachable by different URLs. The different URLs in a document can lead to exactly the same page (for instance, example.com/dresses/summer/1234 and example.com?product=1234 might show the same page), or the same page with small variations intended for users on different devices (for example, example.com/mypage for desktop users and m.example.com/mypage for mobile users).

Google chooses one of the URLs in a document and defines it as the document's canonical URL. The document's canonical URL is the one that Google crawls and indexes most often; the other URLs are considered duplicates or alternates, and may occasionally be crawled, or served according to the user request. For instance, if a document's canonical URL is the mobile URL, Google will still probably serve the desktop (alternate) URL for users searching on desktop.

Most reports in Search Console attribute data to the document's canonical URL. Some tools (such as the URL Inspection tool) support testing alternate URLs, but inspecting the canonical URL provides information about the alternate URLs as well.

You can tell Google which URL you prefer to be canonical, but Google may choose a different canonical for various reasons.

Here is a summary of terms, and how they are used in Search Console:

  • Document: A collection of similar pages. Has a canonical URL, and possibly alternate URLs, if your site has duplicate pages. URLs in the document can be from the same or different organization (the root domain, for example "google" in www.google.com). Google chooses the best URL to show in Search results according to the platform (mobile/desktop), user language or location, and many other variables. Google discovers related pages on your site by organic crawling, or by site-implemented features such as redirects or <link rel=alternate/canonical> tags. Related pages on other organizations can only be marked as alternates if explicitly coded by your site (through redirects or link tags).
  • URL: The URL used to reach a given piece of content on a site.
  • Page: A given web page, reached by one or more URLs. There can be different versions of a page, depending on the user's platform (mobile, desktop, tablet, and so on).
  • Version: One variation of the page, typically categorized as "mobile", "desktop", and "AMP" (although AMP can itself have mobile and desktop versions). Each version can have a different URL (example.com vs m.example.com) or the same URL (if your site uses dynamic serving or responsive web design, the same URL can show different versions of the same page) depending on your site configuration. Language variations are not considered different versions, but different documents.
  • Canonical page or URL: The URL that Google considers as most representative of the document. Google always crawls this URL; duplicate URLs in the document are occasionally crawled as well.
  • Alternate/duplicate page or URL: The document URL that Google might occasionally crawl. Google also serves these URLs if they are appropriate to the user and request (for example, an alternate URL for desktop users will be served for desktop requests rather than a canonical mobile URL).
  • Site: Usually used as a synonym for a website (a conceptually related set of web pages), but sometimes used as a synonym for a Search Console property, although a property can actually be defined as only part of a site. A site can span subdomains (and even domains, for properly linked AMP pages).

Serving results

When a user enters a query, our machines search the index for matching pages and return the results we believe are the most relevant to the user. Relevancy is determined by hundreds of factors, and we always work on improving our algorithm. Google considers the user experience in choosing and ranking results, so be sure that your page loads fast and is mobile-friendly.

Improve your serving

There are many ways to improve how Google serves the content of your page:

  • If your results are aimed at users in specific locations or languages, you can tell Google your preferences.
  • Be sure that your page loads fast and is mobile-friendly.
  • Follow the Webmaster Guidelines to avoid common pitfalls and improve your site's ranking.
  • Consider implementing Search result features for your site, such as recipe cards or article cards.
  • Implement AMP for faster loading pages on mobile devices. Some AMP pages are also eligible for additional search features, such as the top stories carousel.
  • Google's algorithm is constantly being improved; rather than trying to guess the algorithm and design your page for that, work on creating good, fresh content that users want, and following our guidelines.