Warning: This data is provided under the Google User Data Policy. Please review and comply with the policy. Failure to do so might result in project or account suspension.

Overview

Sign up refers to the steps to obtain a Google Account holders consent to share their profile information with your platform. Typically, a new account is created on your site using this shared data, but this is not a requirement.

Sign in refers to user login to a Google Account using a personalized sign-in button or One tap and Automatic sign in for users already logged in to their Google Account.

Sign out requires users to explicitly sign in when returning to your site from any device.

Use cases

Some of the reasons to add Sign In With Google to your site are:

  • Add a visibly trusted and secure Sign In With Google button to an account creation or settings page.
  • Pre-populate new accounts with consensually shared data from a Google Account profile.
  • Sign in once to a Google Account without re-entering usernames or passwords on other sites.
  • On return visits sign in automatically or with one click across an entire site.
  • Use verified Google Accounts to protect comments, voting or forms from abuse, while allowing anonymity.

Supported features

These features are supported by Sign In With Google:

  • Sign up, to optionally create a new account auto-filled from a Google Account profile.
  • Sign in, using an account chooser to select from multiple accounts.
  • Sign in with One tap, if you've already signed in to your Google Account.
  • Sign in Automatically, on return visits from using your computer, phone or even multiple browser tabs.
  • Sign out, to disable automatic sign in across all your devices.
  • Suspending your Google Account stops sign in to all sites using Sign In With Google.
  • Deleting your Google or partner account affects one, but not the other.
  • Use a third-party identity provider or sign up directly if you choose not to share your Google Account profile with a site.

Migrating to the Sign in with Google button

If your site already makes use of the existing Google Sign-In button, migrating to the new Sign In With Google button is simple and offers a number of advantages:

  • A personalized experience enables users to view a profile picture to identify or choose from multiple Google Accounts, thereby decreasing sign up and sign in friction.

  • Sign in state is synchronized across all of a user’s devices, reducing friction. Sign out from one device signs out all of a user’s devices, decreasing risk due to a lost device.

  • With user trust and safety in mind we've improved privacy controls and increased visibility for any data that is shared.

  • A consistent look and feel across the Internet improves user trust versus inconsistent Google Sign-In branding.

  • For developers, we've redesigned our libraries to require less coding and effort on your part.

  • Additionally, these changes are intended to isolate and minimize risk as we rollout out new features and security changes such as disabling third-party cookies.

How it works

A JavaScript library is included in your site and HTML or JavaScript is used to customize the look and feel of the personalized button and One tap, Automatic sign in and sign out behaviors.

Users signing in for the first time are prompted for consent to share their Google Account profile information.

After consenting a JSON Web Token (JWT) credential containing the user's name, email and profile picture is shared using a callback handler. At this time you may create a new user account on your platform or simply allow the verified user to continue using your site.

If users are already signed in on a Google device a personalized button will be displayed, otherwise an unpersonalized button is displayed.

Users may disable automatic sign in or revoke access to share their profile by visiting myaccount.google.com.